قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Technology / How to delete Facebook and Instagram from your life forever

How to delete Facebook and Instagram from your life forever



Lost faith in Facebook and Instagram after data cracking, breakage and too much noise? Here's a guide to breaking up the social network and its image sharing app for good.

You may have probably enough: it's time to delete Facebook.

There have been months – or is it now year? – of bad news about the social network Last month, Facebook revealed that a vulnerability is exposed to millions of accounts to be hijacked by hackers. Because of the vulnerability, an attacker can take over your account – something that you've ever posted on Facebook, or even apps you've connected using your Facebook account, may have been infiltrated.

The company said in a statement that it investigated the incident and would like to share updates. "People's privacy and security are incredibly important and we're sorry that happened," said the company. "That's why we took immediate action to secure people's accounts and fix vulnerabilities."

The bride followed a scandal involving Cambridge Analytica, the voter-profiling firm that got hands on the private data of millions of Facebook users. And maybe you're just tired of partyisaners yammering and updates from the six-degree friends.

I have some first hand experience with all this. After revealing Facebook's violation, I felt that the trust of the social network was broken. So I extracted my data from Facebook and cleaned my account. What I found out about the process: The more you've integrated Facebook into your life, the more time consuming it will be to delete it.

To make account writing as painless as possible, this is a step by step guide. I've also taken steps to break up with Instagram, Facebook's photo exchange program, for those looking for a cleaner vacation.

Step 1

: Consider What You Can Lose

Before you commit to breaking up with Facebook, it is important to cover possible safety injuries. Some products and services are deeply integrated with Facebook, and can be difficult to use without social networking accounts.

The fastest way to test your water is to disable your Facebook account, which is essentially an account suspension that can be reversed immediately. To disable, just click through your settings and select "Manage your account". Then click the button "Disable your account."

When I did, I noticed that I could no longer run Instagram ads to promote the dog's Instagram account because the advertising tools are directly linked to Facebook. So if you are a business owner who announces products on Instagram, deletion of Facebook will cut off the marketing channel.

My account deactivation also broke access to apps and websites that I used my Facebook account to sign up for. I found that I could no longer access Pinterest because I used my Facebook account to sign up for the virtual scrapbooking service. In order to regain access, I reactivated my Facebook account and then entered my Pinterest settings. Once there, I quit Pinterest account from Facebook and reset my Pinterest password. Then I logged back to Pinterest with my email address instead.

  Download your Facebook data before deleting your account. (NYT)
Download your Facebook data before deleting your account. (NYT)

For other apps, like Spotify and ChefSteps, I similarly linked the apps from my Facebook account. Then I reset the passwords for these services to access my email address.

Doing all this was a pain. But the exercise was worth it to make sure I did not want to break my accounts for other sites.

Step 2: Download Your Data

Now that I knew I could safely delete Facebook, I started extracting my data from the social network. It means any personal information I had collected on my account, including my photos, message prints and friends list, and that I do not already have copies of other places.

To help with this, Facebook offers a comprehensive tool called Download your Information, found in your site's settings. With this tool you can decide what types of data you want to take.

I requested a copy of all my data. Facebook took about an hour to gather all the information in a 700 MB file. The file took about 10 minutes to download and the information was organized in folders for different types of data, such as pictures, search logs and messages.

Retrieving your information from Facebook does not mean you remove it from the company's servers, though. More about it in a little bit.

  When you have a copy of all the Facebook data you care about, it's time to press
When you have a copy of all the Facebook data you care about, it's time to hit the "Clear Account" button. (NYT)

Step 3: Delete the Delete Button

After receiving a copy of all the Facebook data I cared for, it was time to do the work. In Facebook's settings menu, I clicked the "Your Facebook Information" button and then click "Delete Your Account and Information."

Finally, I clicked on the blue "Delete Account" button. An available one showed up and asked for my password. Then a box alerted that deletion was permanent. I was not fazed – and press the button.

Step 4: Resist Rejoining

But wait. After deleting, my Facebook account was not deleted, despite all the hoops I had jumped through. The website said that my account was scheduled for permanent deletion after 30 days and that if I logged in again, I would have the opportunity to cancel the deletion request.

This grace period is here so people can change. In addition, the entire deletion process can take up to 90 days to clear all backups of your data from the company's servers, according to Facebook. In other words, be patient.

  It may take some time to show, but Instagram will send an email to a link to download the file of your data. (NYT)
It may take some time to show, but Instagram will send an email to a link to download the file to your data. (NYT)

Step 5: Delete Instagram

If you also want to get away from Facebook's clutches by removing the Instagram account, the process is much easier. That's because Instagram is not nearly as far-reaching as Facebook; You do not use your Instagram account to sign in to other apps, for example.

Here are the steps: In the image application settings you can choose an option to download a copy of your data. From there Instagram sends a link to download the file. This process took about 10 minutes for my account. Then you can visit the Website Delete Your Account and click through the buttons to kill your account.

I confirm that I did not personally follow this. I kept my Instagram account because I like to keep in touch with friends there.

Step 6: Make sure it's not tracking

After quitting a romantic relationship, have you ever blocked your items on Facebook so that he or she can not follow you? You should do the same after joining Facebook to ensure that the site stops tracking your browsing activity.

Most Read Business Stories

Unlimited Digital Access. $ 1 for 4 weeks.

Be extra thorough about eliminating tracking methods that Facebook and other websites use to follow you. It includes deleting your web cookies, resetting your advertising identifier, and installing a tracking stop. Follow my previous guide to combat targeted ads to protect your smartphone, tablet, or computer. Follow my previous guide to fighting targeted ads to protect your smartphone, tablet, or computer.

After completing these steps myself, there was no sense of closure that I expected. That's probably because I knew I might end up reversing Facebook Deletion to write written articles like this one. I have 30 days to decide.

RELATED:

Why you should not use Facebook to sign in to other sites and apps

Facebook was hacked. Here are 3 things you should do now.

Your password has probably been stolen. Here's what to do with it.

Your Wi-Fi security is probably weak – Here's how to fix it

Turn off my data! Part 1: A clickable guide to fix complicated privacy settings from Facebook, Google, Amazon, Microsoft, and Apple.

Turn off my data! Part 2: A clickable guide to improve your privacy on your TV, mobile phone plan, LinkIn and more.


Source link