Home / Technology / Google now allows you to delete the last 15 minutes of your browsing history immediately

Google now allows you to delete the last 15 minutes of your browsing history immediately



In short: Good news for those people who, for whatever reason, need a quick and easy way to delete their recent web activity on mobile devices: Google’s previously announced privacy feature that will delete the last 15 minutes of their mobile search history is now rolling out.

It was back on Google I / O 2021 that the company announced the “quick delete” option along with several other security and privacy focused tools. The company said that it was one of the most requested features from the users.

The tool is currently only available in Google’s iOS app, but will come to Android later “this year”, according to the company.

Using Quick Delete requires you to be signed in to Search with a Google Account. Users can access the option by simply tapping the avatar icon to access the settings and then selecting “Delete last 15 minutes.”

Those on the desktop can delete their web and app activity automatically (via the Activity Controls) every three, eighteen or thirty-six months, in addition to removing all history manually or deleting each entry one by one.

Google insists that it only tracks users’ search history as a way to “personalize” the experience when the “Web and app activity” setting is enabled.

In the past, deleting Google’s search history on mobile was not so easy for some users, so it’s a welcome change to make the whole process much faster and easier, especially for anyone browsing content they’d rather others not know about.

Masthead Credit: Natee Meepian


Source link